The Lace Reader

7 September

I’ve been saving up a few favorites to pass along and this is at the top of the list.

The Lace Reader, by Brunonia Barry… Many of you NPR listeners may have heard the interview a few weeks back with the author and her husband. They shared the story of their publishing phenom which rocketed this book from a self-published stack of pages to a multi-million dollar book deal. Caught my attention but the book itself is a winner. I listened to it while doing the last painting and actually read it twice to go back and catch some of the early clues that drifted away. It is a superb mystery and beautifully crafted.

I found my way to her website, and blog in which she mentions doing an interview with Diane Rehm…so I downloaded the podcast of it and listened AFTER reading. (There was a much anticipated surprise ending that I didn’t want to spoil). Not since discovering Laurie R. King and her brilliant writings have I enjoyed a novel as much.

Here’s a link to the website and her blog is there as well.

Pat is saving her copy of the book for the Vineyard next week. I can’t wait to talk to her about it when she’s finished. For everyone of my book reading, story loving friends…

~ by hnartisan on September 7, 2008.

One Response to “The Lace Reader”

  1. Vineyard next week?????
    what’s this Vineyard next week stuff? what happened to October…email me a schedule, etc. if you’re there a while maybe we’ll take a boat trip…
    PF

Leave a Reply

 
